26: Us & Them (2013)

Though it was a smash hit across the pond, not a lot of people in the US have heard of the plucky UK comedy Gavin & Stacey, which ran on the BBC from 2007-2010. It’s been one of my favorite shows for years; one of those programs that just makes you feel good every time you watch, even when the episode isn’t necessarily going the way its characters would like it to. To be honest, that adds a lot of the appeal.

It’s a recurring theme on this blog, I think, but I’m one of those saps that genuinely enjoys stories about decent people getting together and falling in love and being decent to and with one another. It’s kind of boring, which is probably why shows like The Killing succeed on networks like Fox, and ones like last fall’s entrancing Ben And Kate, or Us & Them, the G&S Americanization, starring Jason Ritter and Alexis Bledel, are doomed to fail.

Initially ordering 13 episodes, Fox has cut down their down to 7, essentially cancelling the show before it even premieres.

I don’t presume to know anything about networks and how the decisions behind scheduling or advertising are made. I’d like to, one day, but for now, I’m just a consumer. What I don’t get is pre-emptively deciding something is going to fail without giving it a fair shot, but then again, network execs didn’t get to be network execs without knowing what they were talking about.

Hopefully the show takes off and is as big a success as its British step-clone. I like Bledel and Ritter a lot. Hopefully they’ll make it shine.

